Press "Enter" to skip to content

A lot of “The Big One” mayhem before Denny Hamlin races home for his 2nd Daytona 500 win

William Byron leads again ahead of Kevin Harvick for the final 75 laps of action in Daytona.

Byron’s Hendrick Motorsports team-mate Jimmie Johnson sits in 2nd driving the No.48 Chevy.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. isn’t out of the frame in 3rd through the best of the Fords.

Then two other Fords round out the Top 5 through the Stewart-Haas pair of Clint Bowyer & Kevin Harvick.

With 41 to go, there’s a multi-pile wreck near pit road with a few drivers involved:

  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  • Tyler Reddick
  • Jimmie Johnson
  • Cody Ware
  • BJ McLeod

The miscommunication between Ware & McLeod saw both of their cars lose control before collecting some damage to the other three drivers.

The race resumed with 33 laps left with Denny Hamlin leads the charge off Alex Bowman.

Not long later, another yellow called out for debris at the backstretch as the next restart came up with 22 to go.

The Joe Gibbs trio occupied in 1st & 2nd of Hamlin to Ky. Busch with Erik Jones dropping a few spots due to low fuel pressure.

Kyle Larson then lost control by hitting the wall from P18 with 19 laps to go as the 8th caution is out.

Five laps later, Jimmie Johnson tagged Brad Keselowski’s rear quarter panel before Keselowski heavily hit into the wall.

Kyle Busch gets a boost from Clint Bowyer to try and leapfrog Denny Hamlin for the race lead.

Although, Paul Menard bumped up Matt DiBenedetto too much into the wall with multiple drivers involved in “The Big One” at Turn 3.

While the race was on hold for clean up, all of the 22 drivers involved in that wreck had to end their day early before medics checked & released them.

Immediately after the next restart, Stenhouse bumped Kevin Harvick before he collected Kyle Larson into the wall.

Plus the Hendrick Motorsports pair of Chase Elliott & Alex Bowman also lost control in the grass.

With two to go, Michael McDowell tagged Clint Bowyer’s rear panel before he collided Chase Elliott & William Byron.

Heading towards the homestretch, Denny Hamlin held onto the lead until the checkered flag when he won his 2nd Daytona 500.

Kyle Busch came home in 2nd followed by Erik Jones which equals a 1-2-3 sweep for Joe Gibbs Racing.


  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Michael McDowell
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Ryan Preece
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Ross Chastain
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. Parker Kligerman
  16. Austin Dillon
  17. Chase Elliott
  18. Corey LaJoie
  19. BJ McLeod
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. William Byron
  22. Jamie McMurray
  23. Brendan Gaughan
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Kevin Harvick
  27. Tyler Reddick
  28. Matt DiBenedetto
  29. Paul Menard
  30. David Ragan
  31. Ryan Blaney
  32. Aric Almirola
  33. Daniel Suarez
  34. Daniel Hemric
  35. Martin Truex Jr.
  36. Matt Tifft
  37. Chris Buescher
  38. Bubba Wallace
  39. Cody Ware
  40. Casey Mears

Buy Fan Gear on NASCARShop

If you’re a die-hard Racing fan, Make sure you head to NASCARShop for your trusted source of:

  • T-Shirts
  • Jackets
  • Hats
  • Die-Casts

Why wait where you can take your Fandom to the next level via the link here.

Image Reference

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *