Australian 7s mens side to be drawn in a tough Pool B for the 2018 Commonwealth Games


The Australian 7s Mens team will have go through the Group of Death from band five when they face England, Samoa and Jamaica.

The full 2018 draw of the Commonwealth Games Rugby 7s tourmanent was recently announced just a while ago at the CBUS Super Stadium in Gold Coast, Queensland.

That is not going to be easy for Australia when they were not one of the top four seeds in this year’s Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens draw.

However, there’s only one plus side to today’s announcement where they avoided arch-rivals New Zealand and South Africa.

ARU 7’s team to battle it out through the Group of Death in Pool B alongside England, Samoa and Jamaica

According to a live blog from and recently retired skipper Ed Jenkins, Samoa is rated as the dark horses during this tournament where Jenkins warned that this will not be an easy run for the host nation to get through into the Medal knockout stages not just England but also Samoa.

Samoa advanced to the Medal semi-fimals in the 2014 Commonwealth Games competition during the Rugby Sevens tournament where they were defeated by South Afica 35-7.

Going into the Bronze Medal Match, Samoa didn’t score any tries nor conversions at all when they were beaten by Australia 24-0.

It seems to be that Samoa could go once more this time into the Gold Medal Match where they have set an objective of securing a goal medal for their country.

Though, current ARU 7s skipper, Lewis Holland is confident that Australia’s triumph in Sydney after a long, winless run in 2012 will help translate into winning their first Gold Medal in the sport’s history of the Commonwealth Games.

Full Men’s Pools

Pool A: South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia

Pool B: England, Australia, Samoa and Jamaica

Pool C: New Zealand, Canada, Kenya and Zambia

Pool D: Fiji, Wales, Uganda and Sri Lanka

Australian 7s Women’s squad won’t be that difficult

The Australian 7s Women’s squad who didn’t lose any points during their victory last weekend in Sydney, has given an easier route in Pool B.

This is where Australia will verse England, Fiji and Wales in an aim to secure a goal medal in the inaugural Women’s 7s competition during this year’s Commonwealth Games.

Full Women’s Pools

Pool A: New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and Kenya

Pool B: Australia, Fiji, England and Wales

References: The Image of the Australian 7s crest is sourced from the official site.

You May Also Like

Recommended for you