Press "Enter" to skip to content

NASCAR: 2018 First Data 500: Stage 3, Part 2 Write-Up at Martinsville Speedway

After a while of cleaning up the track & towing Kyle Larson’s car out of the scene, the race resumed with 85 to go.

Brad Keselowski hopped late into the scene as he gets by team-mate Joey Logano for the race lead.

Martin Truex Jr. dropped back to 6th following a poor restart after a recent run of immediate yellows.

Though, Kyle Busch did have a great restart as he gets by his team-mate Denny Hamlin in 3rd.

Not long later, Hamlin bounced back ahead of Ky. Busch by regaining 3rd spot.

Logano tried to keep his 2nd spot with under 50 to go while Hamlin kept his faith with the bottom line.

As a result, Hamlin’s efforts to pass Logano went through before Clint Bowyer spun out six laps later.

To make up lost time, Logano won the race off pit road under yellow as he regains the lead.

Truex this time had a great restart as he runs in 4th as Keselowski just got by Ky. Busch in 2nd.

With 17 to go, it’s only Team Penske team-mates of whom will go into one by the end of the race.

Joey Logano did the best he can to hold off Brad Keselowski.

Meanwhile, Truex just got around Kyle Busch in 3rd before splitting the Team Penske pair in 2nd ahead of Keselowski.

Though, Truex needed to past Logano now for the win as the race isn’t over just yet.

He made a late bid by adding a little push and shove to Joey Logano.

But Truex’s attempts were unsuccessful as Joey Logano wins the First Data 500 at Martinsville Speedway.

Also, Logano became the first driver to advance into the Championship 4.

That means Joey Logano will fight for the Cup Series Championship at Homestead-Miami in three weeks time.


  1. Joey Logano
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Daniel Suarez
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. AJ Allmendinger
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Jamie McMurray
  17. Alex Bowman
  18. David Ragan
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Ryan Blaney
  21. Clint Bowyer
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Matt Kenseth
  24. Cole Whitt
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Erik Jones
  27. DJ Kennington
  28. Regan Smith
  29. Ross Chastain
  30. Austin Dillon
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Jeb Burton
  34. Bubba Wallace
  35. Joey Gase
  36. Matt DiBenedetto
  37. Kyle Larson
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. William Byron
  40. Hermie Sadler

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *