Cricket: Prime Minister’s XI v South Africa 2nd Innings Write-Up at Manuka Oval in Canberra, Australia


Jack Edwards got off to a great start with a cut shot four on his first ball v Dale Steyn for Prime Minister’s XI.

On the other hand, Max Bryant followed the same lead with J.Edwards with a boundary himself.

But Dale Steyn bowled in-line & swung late where Bryant edged out a bit early to Aiden Markram at Point.

As Bryant’s gone for six, Josh Phillipe joins J.Edwards in the middle with PM XI 1-15.

J.Edwards scored some runs himself before Lungi Ngidi trapped him caught & bowled on 26.

Dinner Break: Prime Minister’s XI: 2-45

Immediately after the dinner break, Josh Phillipe resumed his run chase with several eye-catching boundaries before backing up his 50.

For J.Edwards, his time in the middle ended early on ten thanks to a caught & bowled piece from Lungi Ngidi.

Not long later, Phillipe pulls it towards leg trying to reach the rope.

But it fell short as Lungi Ngidi’s catch gifted Kagiso Rabada’s 1st victim as Phillipe leaves on 57.

Imran Tahir quickly added PM XI’s fifth wicket loss with the caught & bowl.

With Sam Heazlett batted deep & early, he had to go for a short stay on two before Jason Sangha replaced him in the middle.

And both Sangha and George Bailey helped PM XI reach 102 in 20 overs as well as forming a combined 50-run stand.

Not only that, the Sangha-Bailey stand reached 60 with the PM XI 5-152 with 22 runs to win off 120 balls.

On the run home, Jason Sangha felt disappointed when Kagiso Rabada splits this partnership.

With a fast line and length, Sangha hesitated which saw his spell end on 38 as Reeza Hendricks takes the catch at slip.

But at least, George Bailey wrapped the night out early both with a well-earned 50 as well as gifting the Prime Minister’s XI victory for Scott Morrison at Manuka Oval.

FINAL SCORE: Prime Minister’s XI win by four wickets.

The last time they won a match v the opposition was West Indies on 29th January 2013 by 23 runs.

They since lost the next four matches before their 17th victory v South Africa:

  • England, January 2014 & 2015
  • New Zealand, October 2015
  • Sri Lanka, February 2017

Image Reference

You May Also Like

Recommended for you