Press "Enter" to skip to content

Race 35 of the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series: Can-Am 500 at ISM Raceway in Phoenix, Arizona

Kevin Harvick’s No.4 Ford led comfortably in the first ten laps ahead of Chase Elliott.

His Stewart-Haas team-mate Aric Almirola moved up six spots from 18th to 12th by Lap 40.

The Joe Gibbs Racing pair of Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin fired off well.

Ky. Busch first got around Erik Jones in 4th followed by Denny Hamlin in 5th.

Halfway through the opening stage, Timmy Hill’s No.66 car suffered a fluid leak before he ended his day early in the garage.

Not long later, Kurt Busch got around his brother Kyle in 6th before breaking inside the Top 5 with five to go.

Joey Logano struggled with the forwarding drive as it began to plummet down in 20th.

Speaking of struggles, Harvick began to suffer a flat tire with two laps before the end of Stage 1.

At the same time, C. Elliott swooped his 4th stage win of 2018.

Stage 2

Chase Elliott re-leads the line ahead of Kurt Busch for the next restart.

Ku. Busch immediately jumped ahead of Elliott on the outside line towards Turn 1.

His No.41 Ford led over the next 10-12 laps before Joey Logano tagged the wall at Turn 1 which marked the 1st-incident yellow.

At the same time, Daniel Suarez picked up damage to the hood when he bumped to Matt Kenseth’s rear chassis.

Although, it proved heartbroken for Logano & Suarez when they ended their race early.

But it’s a boost for Harvick when he ran 22nd at the time where he’s won the lucky dog & returned on the lead lap.

At the next restart on Lap 104, Brad Keselowski jumped in by gaining two spots past Ryan Blaney & Chase Elliott.

Keselowski continued to jockey Kurt Busch for the race lead as they’re 0.498 seconds apart.

On Lap 133, Clint Bowyer blew his left rear tire before clipping the wall at Turn 3.

With his No.14 Ford picked up very significant damage to his right front, it ended his day early.

Ten laps before the end of Stage 2, Kyle Busch punted out past Kevin Harvick in 2nd at the next restart.

Not long later, Ky. Busch got around his future Joe Gibbs Racing team-mate Martin Truex Jr. for the lead with six to go before he won Stage 2.

At the same time, Brad Keselowski successfully made a late move on Truex to finish in 2nd.

Stage 3

Kyle Busch continues to pull away as he leads Keselowski comfortably over half a second.

On Lap 200, Chase Elliott clears Ryan Blaney in 3rd before the final green-flag pit stops take place 22-25 laps later.

Once the cycle wraps up, Tanner Berryhill spun off Turn 2 which marked another yellow.

Not long later, Kevin Harvick spun the rear David Ragan out into the inside wall where Ragan ended his day early.

With 50 to go, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. blew his left rear tire before he tagged the wall at Turn 3.

As his fuel cell collapsed & hopped out of the car, his day is already over for the day.

If Kevin Harvick didn’t want the incident to happen, the same thoughts happened to Denny Hamlin with 44 to go.

Hamlin squeezed Ku. Busch on the outside wall before he tagged the No.41 first followed by the right rear of Chase Elliott at Turn 3.

It proved to be heartbroken for Elliott & Ku. Busch as they joined Bowyer as one of the drivers eliminated from the Round of 8.

With 25 to go, Alex Bowman blew his engine before tagging the wall off Turn 4 as the safety crews clean out the track.

Aric Almirola pushed as hard as he can to try and get a last-minute entry to the Championship 4 with the win.

But it’s Kyle Busch who led from nearly the end of Stage 2 to secure his eighth win of 2018 at ISM Raceway.


You can see the full results here & the Championship standings here.

The following four drivers will be competing for the Championship Title next Sunday at Homestead-Miami:

  • Kyle Busch
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Martin Truex Jr.
  • Joey Logano

It’s the second straight year that none of the Chevrolet drivers have made it to the season finale since Jimmie Johnson last won his eighth title two years ago.

Will Harvick, Truex or Ky. Busch get their second Championship titles?

Or will Joey Logano run from nowhere and deliver Roger Penske the most fabulous prize since Brad Keselowski’s triumph in 2012?

Find out next Sunday at 2.30 PM ET LIVE on NBC.

Image Reference

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *